Another Foodie PenPal Revelation Day!

This month’s Foodie PenPal package arrived only a few days after the required mailing deadline (the 15th of the month is always the mail-by date), a gift from the Lone Star State, Texas. My FPP, Megan, decided – based on my answers to questions in her initial e-mail about any food allergies/sensitivities, likes/loves and dislikes – to go with a theme of “cinnamon.” Yay! Love cinnamon!

It was only my second time trying the the Foodie Penpal program, and again it was fun – all of it: picking out and sending items to my FPP in Minnesota, receiving my package from Texas, opening it to check out the surprises. I will, of course do this again – although I will wait a bit for my next experience. I’ll be back to blogging more, hopefully, within the next few days and will want to focus on that. Plenty of recipes waiting to write up and post…

For now, though, let me tell you about my August 2012 Foodie PenPal box.

My favorite thing, believe it or not, was such a simple – and simply tasty – bag of cinnamon sweet potato chips. I’ve been sampling them every now and then, but want to create some kind of simple semi-sweet dip to have with them before they’re all gone!

Megan also included homemade pumpkin bread. She used a recipe from a cookbook of family recipes she compiled for her cousin’s wedding, which reminded me of my own cookbook (recipes compiled for my brother Bill and his bride Deb in the mid-1990s). This particular recipe creates two loaves, she said, and so she retained one for her own family. Naturally, this now makes me want to bake up some of my own favorite rendition of pumpkin bread soon, especially since autumn is just around the corner.

 Next, there were packages of teas and coffee from a place called Independence Coffee Company. Megan mentioned in her note that this is one of her favorite “local” roasters. It’s located about 45 minutes west of Houston. She even thought to include one if those tea steepers (you know- that you fill with loose tea for steeping in hot water! I own a couple, but do you think I’d ever remember their true name?), a really nice touch.

She couldn’t resist adding a box of Hot Tamales, a fiery cinnamon candy, plus cinnamon-flavored Trident gum – finishing off the theme. She also packed an issue of Texas Monthly into the package, with a bookmarked article in it re Tex-Mex food by Hugo Ortega, who owns a restaurant locally. Very cool to include a regional magazine! 

If you’re interested in participating in the Foodie PenPals program, check out it out at the Lean Green Bean site page for it (hyperlink found in this sentence!). You don’t have to participate every month either. Each time you choose to, you simply re-apply (a simple form to fill out). If you do, hope you enjoy it as much as I have.

One response

  1. Glad you enjoyed it. I’d like to add that I changed the recipie a little because I used apple sauce instead of oil and agave for some of the sugar. I think that’s why it looks a little deflated. I hope it still tastes good.

Leave a Reply

